Interview: Animation Fan

Posted on November 19, 2011

0


I’m interviewing a good friend and animation fanatic for my first of three interviews, which range from the movie viewer, the art history fan, and the animator. Tori’s been put up with me for years now and is the writer to my illustrator.

So, Tori, I’m very aware that you enjoy watching animation. What got you into being a fanatic?

I’ve actually loved animation ever since I can remember!  One of the very first movies I loved to watch over and over was Toy Story.  I actually carried a doll of Woody with me everywhere I went!

I also loved Disney, like every other little girl.  I still get glows from Disney magic to this day!

My interest never faded as I grew up.  I still follow Disney and Pixar to this day and I love nearly everything they put out!  I’ll probably be enjoying their movies for years to come.

Which do you prefer; TV shows or movies? You have any particular favourites?

I think they both have their merits!  I have a tendency to watch more TV shows than movies, though, since I hate watching movies alone.

I have far too many favorite animated shows.  I can enjoy pretty much anything that wasn’t made by Seth MacFarlane.  My favorite shows include My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, Adventure Time, South Park, Superjail!, Spongebob Squarepants, Fairly Oddparents, and Clone High, just to name a few.

With movies, I love anything by Disney/Pixar.  My favorite Disney movie is Beauty and the Beast and my favorite Pixar movie is a tie between Ratatouille and The Incredibles.

Another animated favorite of mine is Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, too.  No matter how many times I watch that one, it never stops being funny!

I know you have next to no art training, but what do you think of animation studios releasing preproduction art? You still enjoy seeing art from behind the scenes?

I love it!  I love seeing how characters changed throughout their development and I love seeing simple sketches of them.  It’s amazing how animators can breathe life into their characters and worlds.  I always get really excited whenever I find concept art for movies I love.

Thanks a bunch, Tori! Have anything else to add before I boot you away?

Don’t knock animated shows until you try them!  I had dismissed far too many shows for their art or animation style and had loved them when I actually sat down and watched them.  I feel like the writing is just as important as the art!  It all comes together in one amazing package.

 

And there you have it! The opinions of an animation fan straight from her mouth. Next interviews will be with an art history fan and a 2D animator, so stay tuned!

Posted in: Interview